Shorenstein Journalism Award


Shorenstein Journalism Award

The Shorenstein Journalism Award, which carries a cash prize of $10,000, honors a journalist not only for a distinguished body of work, but also for the particular way that work has helped readers to understand the complexities of Asia. The award, established in 2002, was named after Walter H. Shorenstein, the philanthropist, activist, and businessman who endowed two institutions that are focused respectively on Asia and on the press: the Walter H. Shorenstein Asia-Pacific Research Center (APARC) in the Freeman Spogli Institute at Stanford University, and the Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics, and Public Policy in the Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University.

The award was originally designed to honor distinguished American journalists for their work on Asia, including veteran correspondents for leading American media such as the New York Times, the Washington Post, Newsweek, NBC News, PBS and the Wall Street Journal. The first group of awardees included: Stanley Karnow, Orville Schell, Don Oberdorfer, Nayan Chanda, Melinda Liu, John Pomfret, Ian Buruma, Seth Mydans and Barbara Crossette.

Shorenstein APARC believes that it is vital to continue the Shorenstein Journalism Award, not only to honor the legacy of Walter Shorenstein and his twin passions for Asia and the press, but also to promote the necessity of a free and vibrant media for the future of relations between Asia and the United States. Moreover, as we have seen recently in the Middle East, a free press, not only in its traditional forms of print and broadcast but now also via the Internet and new avenues of social media, remains the essential catalyst for the growth of democratic freedom.

In 2011, Shorenstein APARC re-envisioned the award in recognition of the fact that Asia has served as a crucible for the role of the press in democratization in places such as South Korea, Taiwan, India, Pakistan and Indonesia. It has also figured greatly in the emergence of social media and citizen journalism. New tests of the role of the media are emerging in China, Vietnam, and other authoritarian societies in Asia. Will the Internet be a catalyst for change, or can it also be a carrier of new forms of cyber nationalism and an instrument of authoritarian control? How are Asia’s journalists responding to that challenge?

The award now encompasses distinguished Asian journalists who are at the forefront of the battle for press freedom in Asia and who have played a key role in constructing a new role for the media, including the growth of social media and Internet-based journalism. It also seeks to identify those Asian journalists who, from that side of the Pacific Ocean, have aided the growth of mutual understanding between Asia and the United States. Independent, pioneering Chinese media company Caixin was the first Asian recipient of the Shorenstein Journalism Award.

Continuing as an annual tradition, the Shorenstein Journalism Award now alternates between recipients from the West, who have mainly addressed an American audience, and recipients from Asia.

Award Recipients

2018 Anna Fifield
Beijing Bureau Chief, The Washington Post

2017 Siddharth Varadarajan
Founder and Editor, The Wire

2016 Ian Johnson
Author and frequent contributor to the New York Times, New York Review of Books, the New Yorker and National Geographic

2015 Yoichi Funabashi
Former Editor-in-Chief, Asahi Shimbun

2014 Jacob Schlesinger
Senior Asia Economics Correspondent and Central Banks Editors - Asia, the Wall Street Journal

2013 Aung Zaw
Founder and Editor, The Irrawaddy

2012 Barbara Demick
Beijing Bureau Chief, the Los Angeles Times

2011 Caixin Media
Independent, Beijing-based media company

2010 Barbara Crossette
Former Foreign Correspondent, the New York Times

2009 Seth Mydans
Southeast Asia Correspondent, the New York Times and the International Herald Tribune

2008 Ian Buruma
Writer and the Henry R. Luce Professor of Democracy, Human Rights, and Journalism, Bard College

2007 John Pomfret
Former Beijing Bureau Chief, the Washington Post

2006 Melinda Liu
Beijing Bureau Chief, Newsweek

2005 Nayan Chanda
Former Editor and Correspondent, the Far Eastern Economic Review

2004 Donald Oberdorfer
Former Diplomatic Correspondent, The Washington Post

2003 Orville Schell
Journalist and former Dean, School of Journalism, University of California, Berkeley

2002 Stanley Karnow
Former foreign correspondent and Pulitzer-prize winning historian

Jury members

Ian Buruma
Writer and the Paul W. Williams Professor of Democracy, Human Rights, and Journalism, Bard College

Nayan Chanda
Director of Publications, Yale Center for the Study of Globalization

Susan Chira
Senior Correspondent and Editor on Gender Issues, the New York Times

Donald K. Emmerson
Director, Southeast Asia Program, Shorenstein APARC

Orville Schell
Journalist and the Arthur Ross Director, Asia Society Center on U.S.-China Relations

Daniel C. Sneider
Former Associate Director for Research, Shorenstein APARC